Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


More and More Parts
July 4, 2008, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I had to order a few more parts, and I hope they work. Instead of a rag joint, I’m using a U-joint and I had to buy a hanger for the steering column, as well as a column cover and a billion other little things I forgot about. So far it’s an extra $115. (T.C. – $10885)

(edit) Oh, and in case I didn’t mention it, I broke the brittle brake line while removing the steering gear box – I tried to disconnect it, and it snapped right off – so, I’m going to have to look at the brake system too.

Parts I still need to finish the steering:

Steering Wheel ($125 – Classic Industries)
Firewall Gasket ($8 – Rick’s First Generation Camaro)
Steering Column to Floor Boot ($15 – Rick’s First Generation Camaro)
Ignition Switch Lock Cylinder ($16 – Classic Industries)
Ignition Switch ($13 – Classic Industries)
Front Brake Lines (which I broke while fixing the steering) ($59 – Classic Industries)
Rear Axle Brake Lines – ($25 – Classic Industries)
Brake Booster (which I might as well install with the new brake lines) ($143 – eBay)

Once I get all that this week, I can finish all the bolting in of the column, and hook up the wiring. Yay. The test fitting well surprisingly easy, so I’m very happy.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment