Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


99%
February 18, 2008, 11:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I haven’t posted anything in a month, but don’t think that I haven’t been working on the Kabong, cause I’ve made major strides. In fact, I spent more than a fair share of the past few weekends retooling the wiring. I’d stare at it, have a beer. Stare at it, have a beer. Needless to say, it’s been grueling. However, I have good news. The headlights work. The brights work. The switch for the brights works. The lightswitch works. The left blinkers work. The right blinkers work. The hazards work. The brake lights work. The ignition works. The only thing that’s working strangely is the console blinker indicator, and that’s either 1 of 2 things. I cheated and ran all the blinkers through the same blinker fuse, or, I have too big a fuse in there. Hence the title.

[edit] the blinkers are working fine now, but when I turn the lights on, the right blinker indicator turns on (non-blinking).  That one’s gonna need some figuring out.

Again, the more time I spend with the old girl, the more shit I see wrong with it. Oh, and I have no heater. It’s gone. Nothing. Gonna cost me. Anyway, the list to get it on the road now is:

1) New rear suspension. I’ve got less than an inch of clearance with the new tires, and I think that’s a big problem.

2) Remove the gas tank and replace the indicator. It’s not sending the gauge info.

3) Secure the wiring in the engine compartment – that’s easy and I should have it done in no time.

4) Rear brake shoes – again, not a problem.

5) Replace the transmission pan gasket. I kinkedit the last time thinking “no big deal”. I was wrong.  At least now I’ve solved the mystery of “What’s all that goo on the garage floor?”

6) Gut and rebuild the windshield wiper motor, linkage, whatever.

7) Fine tune the carburetor.

8 ) Maybe replace the steering box. It’s still not ideal.

9) Do a reverse rain dance so that it’s not fucking freezing in my damn garage.

10) Re-patch the header hole – the $5 quick fix kit just doesn’t do it.

On a side note, I went to the World of Wheels show last weekend, and Mandy got her badass ’58 Caddy painted and looking sweet. Yeah, yeah, she’s rubbing my nose in it, but I heard from a little bird that it’s still not safe to drive yet, so the race is still on! Or not. She says all she needs is insurance, so at least I’m ahead of her there. I also met a guy at the show who owns 80 firebirds. No shit. I was told that he was a legend because he owned 20 of them, in 1980. I need to call that guy.

Oh, and I spent under $2 on washers and nuts, and used a poopload of shrink tubing and electrical tape, but I’m not even gonna bother with tallying it.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I just found your blog. That’s a beeeyoootiful car! Like your writing style too (“Stare at it, have a beer…” LOL). Good luck. Looking forward to checking back on your progress.

Comment by Gillian




Leave a comment