Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


On the road again…almost
March 2, 2008, 4:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I took a few weekends off from working on El Kabong due to the horribly cold and depressing winter. It was atrocious. However, the clouds parted and I was given a wonderful 38 degree day yesterday, and today supposed to be about 50, so I’m rocking it out.

Friday, I went and got a new transmission fluid pan gasket (rubber this time) and ATF. By 10 o’clock, I had it all back together again – hopefully no leaks this time. I bought another set of jacks and put the car way up in the air to start looking at the rear suspension. The next morning, I came to the conclusion that I needed to put longer shackles on it to get enough clearance for the tires, so I spent all day doing that, and spent about $15 on a lift kit (TC – $9738). This morning, I’ve already removed the damaged header, and I’m going out to Roy’s this afternoon to weld it back into shape. I had to temporarily remove the badass starter to get it out, but no biggie. I also removed the rear shocks, and it looks like instead of being able to get them in town and back on the road this afternoon, it’s going to be a few days, dammit. 

Lesson #11 – When removing your primary header, make sure to disconnect the battery, since the starter motor is in the way. If you bump it just right, the car starts and scares you, and you smack your head on the wheel well. I think I’m going to install a kill switch.

Michelle’s not a fan of seeing the coils poke out from under the rear bumper, but I think it looks pretty aggressive. I just wish they had a better set than the cheesy steel erector-set looking ones, but oh well.