Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


My Poor Knuckles.
December 22, 2007, 10:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Installed the door locks, undid the old crap, installed the actuators. It’s tight in there, but I did it. Apparently, the last owner or 4 had installed a cheap J.C. Whitney auto-lock system in there, but it seems that they didn’t put the remote entry. Why would you go to the trouble, but not add the little extra part? I think I’m mistaken about the car having original power locks, and instead the little hole in the panel was for power windows, which were a factory extra that they didn’t opt for on mine. That’s fine with me, since if there were, I don’t know if there’d be room for the keyless entry, and I prefer that.

Also, while I was under the dash, I noticed a few things. The carpet in unfinished. That’s probably good, since I have to run wires up in there and don’t want to have to rip it up to do so. In addition, the little gauge set is completely disconnected just like the dash. Again, I’ll find out later why, but for now, I’ll think I’ll just take it out so I can put an ashtray in there.

I also don’t think the “custom” crappy door panels are going to cut it, so I’m probably going to order some, as well as kick panels and the rear panels. Classic has some decent prices, and I like seeing their catalog pics, so I know I’m getting the right parts.

Well, time for me to degrease, and go to a birthday party.

 P.S.  I went with this door lock kit, and it worked great – grand total of $108