Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


Recalibrating my thoughts… and my speedo!
July 21, 2009, 4:01 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

It seems that everyone has a different idea about how to find the right calibration for the speedo.  My favorite so far is this one:

http://chevelleengineer.home.comcast.net/~chevelleengineer/speedo.htm

The math is simple, and it’s easy to get in the right ballpark.  After pulling the gear, it’s currently a 39 tooth brown gear.  Let’s do the math:

The car says 80, but it’s more like 55.  That’s a ROUGH estimate, but with these initial facts I can deduce that I’ve got about s 45% error.  The estimate might be wrong, but the math is right.  That means that I need to add 18 teeth.  That would mean I need a 57 tooth gear, but the biggest is 45, so I guess I’ll order that and give it a whirl.  With the crazy ass tires, who knows if I’ll ever get an accurate reading.  The good news is that they’re only $6 a pop, so it’s not a big expense if I’m wrong.  However, I hate to spend 6 bucks to get hit with $8 shipping, so I need to figure out what else I should get while I’m thinking about it.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment