Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


I’m smarter than you.
March 9, 2009, 10:43 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

When will I learn my lesson?  How many times am I going to take it up the cornhole before I just do the smart thing and take my shit to Greene’s (top end local mechanic).  Yeah, I’ll pay twice as much, but I’ll get it done, and done right.  So here’s the rub:

I called the shop ahead of time to schedule that I would be bringing my car in Friday morning.  Why did I do that?  So that they could get it in right away and go right to work.  They didn’t even look at it until today – 3 business days later.  When I called, their shit-for-brains receptionist (somone’s drunkard wife) has no idea what I’m talking about.

“Yeah, I’m the guy with the Firebird.”
“Huh?”
“The vintage car.  The only musclecar in the shop.”
“Huh?”
“The fucking BLUE one!”
“Huh?”
“WHY DID YOU EVEN ANSWER THE PHONE, BITCH!”
…”Um, hold on a sec.”

The only thing they did right (as far as I know) is replace the bad brake line.  I haven’t even asked them if they’ve gotten around to the transmission, and I really hope they didn’t.  This is the second shop I’ve dealt with, that I just want to cut and run.  And that’s why I’m having it towed home tomorrow.  Here’s the rest of the story.

It’s Monday.  I’m a little peeved because I made an appointment for Friday morning, and they didn’t even look at it until today.  Fine.  Business is wierd, I can understand.  I get a call telling me that there’s a little push rod missing.  I go home at lunch to search through parts, but can’t find anything, so I go over to the shop.  I talk to the guy and he looks at the booster while I push the brakes, and imagine that, the aftermarket kit doesn’t use a push rod.  It’s got a different system that works fine.  So I haul ass back to work and I’m thinking, “at least I get to pick up my car tonight and everything will be fine.”  I call at 4 to make sure.  Sure enough, the mechanic starts telling me all sorts of things that end with the fact that the master cylinder is bad.  And of course, I bought it on ebay, so it’s going to take forever to get a new one.  Damn it anyway.  So I’m cashing in my chips and towning the car home tomorrow.  If I don’t have it driving around this weekend, someone is getting a smackdown.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment