Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


Hit the ground and Running
March 7, 2009, 2:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I’m thinking about putting a couch or a bed in the garage.  If I had the extra space, I would definitely do that.  I spent all weekend, all last night and tonight dicking with the bird. I’m having AAA come tow the moose to the shop in the morning so that they can replace the fucked up break line (my fault) and then I’m planning on heading from there to work.  I’ll be cutting out early to get a new plate for it.  Haven’t decided on a vanity plate or a historic.  Or I can use the plate from 1967 that I got.  I’m moving at a crazy fast pace on this fucker!  With luck, I’ll be road worthy tomorrow, Monday at the latest.

I spent approximately the same amount on bits and bobs that I should get back from the parts I’m selling on ebay, so I’m just going to call it a draw on the price.

I’m always thinking what I should do next, and one day I’ll be crapping my pants because I’ll be sending it to paint.  I just have to think small, since I’ll be driving it every day(ish), so I’m not gonna spend more than $1000 on bodywork and paint, since I know that I’ll park it at work and Flannigan will open his door right into the brand new paint and fuck it up.  Yeah, I’m going to be one of those guys who parks at the back of the parking lot to keep assholes from dinging it :).

(4 swear words so far…)

Okay, I need to process this in a way that I’m familiar with.  User Interface.  What’s the most important thing?  I guess that would be the ability to go from point a to point b.  That means drivetrain.  So, what are the essentials that need doing for that to work?? ($400 max)

  1. Engine needs professional tune-up at Greenes.
  2. Tranny needs inspection, fluids and to stop FOKRIN’ leaking all over my garage floor.  While it’s there, I should get the drive shaft and all the bells and whistles inspected.

Okay that’s all I can think of right now as far as the drivetrain is concerned.  So the next part would be immediate safety.

  1. Gauges – Speedo.  Hook it up and pray.  I know the pod is good, so if the speedo is dancing like before, I’m guessing it’s an issue with the sender or the cable.  A bitch, but not something I can’t tackle in an afternoon with a few beers and a big ass hammer.
  2. Gauges – Fuel.  I’m fairly certain that there’s a leak in the tank which kills the vacuum and has most likely fried the sending unit.  I think I’ll just buy a new one at about $70 and save myself the hassle of pulling it apart again if it doesn’t work.  New tank is around $175, but totally worth it, and I’ll definitely get the padding while I’m at it.
  3. Brake lines should be good to go as of tomorrow, so I’m only adding it as a technicality.
  4. Windshield wipers.  I’m sure this is going to be a bigger job than I know, since I’ll have to run a wire and tons of other shit.  Bad pump?  Bad wiring?  Who the hell knows.

Next part would be mechanical fidelity.  If it a’int all running smooth then it’ll break soon, right? ($300)

  1. It was so flipping embarrassing when I parked the car last summer and it puked coolant all over the ground when I parked it.  At the very least, I need a coolant overflow jug.  To do it properly, I want to replace the whole radiator with electric fans so I can take the extra strain off the engine.  It ain’t cheap.  But necessary to keep me from being pulled over on the side of the road or in an intersection waiting for the thing to cool down. ($250)
  2. Wheel Alignment.  I’m hoping everything is perfect and I don’t need this, but chances are I will. ($50)
  3. Shifter.  It’s not completely important, but damn I hate my turd bucket of a B&M poop handle.  This is another weekend job, since I’ll have to take out at least one seat and pull up the carpet.  (Already Owned)

Next it’s base comforts.  Exciting.  Expensive at around $2000

  1. Heating/Cooling shall be fixed with a bitchin’ system from Vintage Air.  It shall cost a small fortune.  It shall be a while to save up for it.  It shall be a big fucking deal.
  2. Radio & Sound System.  This is a biggie, since I’m going to be building a custom center console, and I’ll need to do tons of planning.  I keep going back and forth as to what I should build, and I don’t have any real direction yet.  In the meantime, I can hook up the crappy one I got from the junkyard and make sure the antenna and simple speakers are working.  Again, no expense spared here.

The home stretch is making it look as badass as it can be.  I’ll probably miss a step, but I can always go back and edit.  It’s also the most expensive part at about $3500 for everything.

  1. I might do this at sometime earlier, but the engine needs to be painted, and needs fun dress-up stuff like cool new rocker covers and chrome dipstick and all that fun stuff. ($100)
  2. Hood and Spoiler.  Need to buy them and install them.  Not cheap ($600).
  3. I’ll need to remove all the interior stuff like carpet, seats, side panels, etc. and install sound deading pad. ($200)
  4. After that’s done, the bodywork can begin.  There’s a lot of stuff to do to the interior to prime it for paint.  I’m not sure if I should do paint and body before or after the sound deadening, so I’ll need to look into that.  I’ll also have to go around and dismantle all of the trim and hardware and everything.
  5. Body and Paint.  This will have to be saved up for.  I’m guessing it’ll run in the $2000 range.  Oof.
  6. Interior.  Once the car is new and spiffy, the new headliner, carpet, seat covers, side panels, etc. can be installed.  Luckily, it’s not too expensive if I buy it as a kit. ($600)

I’m sure there’s a billion other little details, but I’m seeing a ending budget of $6500 – 7000 to finish the car.  That will put it at a final range of about $20,000.  But it will also be sweet.  I hope it’ll be worth it in the end.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment