Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


Looking, Thinking, Tinkering.
April 7, 2008, 3:16 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

The suspension is bugging me. Best I can figure is since it was lowered, the guy who previously owned pulled a leaf from the springs, which has rendered them crap for my big tires. I tried to avoid it, but it seems the only solution is to buy new springs at $223 (TC – $10027). That officially puts me over the $10k mark. Woof.

I’d like to say money is no object and now that it’s not freezing outside, I’ll get more done, but I doubt it. The old lady is dying for her new scooter, and I figured I’d get it for her, but that’s a solid $4000. OUCH! I’m also still frustrated as hell with the tranny fluid pan. It won’t stop leaking! What a BITCH! I’m also still getting exhaust from the crappy header, so it looks like I’ve got to bite the bullet and get a new set. Again, I’m ready to cry.

Not only that, but I’m gonna need a new radiator if I want to drive it this summer, so that’s a bitch. I need a second job.

EDIT – I bit the bullet and bought the new header, gaskets & spring bushings, since I was going to need ’em real soon anyway.  $267.65 for all that from Summit, which I guess is pretty good (TC – $10295).  The headers are cool too, Hooker Competition.  Now to eat ramen for a month.