Ben\’s 1967 Pontiac Firebird 400 Rod & Restoration


Swap Meet Goodies!
January 6, 2008, 5:38 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Before I forget, I need to do some math. $320 for the wheels and tire (with shipping, but still a fraggin’ deal) and $79 in parts from the show today is a total of $399 spent this week. Please don’t tell Michelle. (TC – $9620)

I bought the wheels and tires from Jim in Michigan. They should be here late this week. Fucking outstanding. Hoosier tires rule! Damn, that reminds me. I should have bought a Hoosier sticker at the show. No matter. Stickers were all about $4 and not very well done.

Now for the fun stuff. I bought new valve cover T-bar screws for $10, hood latches for $5, a shitload of wire and electronics stuff for the dash at about $20, a really cool spark wire separator for $15, a bunch of specialty tools, a digital caliper, shop rags, and most importantly, a big extendable mirror so I can see the block stamps and lay my worries to rest. I didn’t count about $40 into the total, cause I spent that much on stuff I needed for the shop anyway, but with any luck, in the next few weeks, I might sell some of my stuff, and that total should drop a little bit. I’m nearing the damn $10,000 mark, and I don’t know how to feel about that.

Now it’s off to the garage to play with my new toys, but one last quick note.  I checked prices for the wheels and tires I’m getting from Jim.  The average cost of the tires is about $750 and the wheels are about $400.  Add in mounting and balancing and you’re talking upwards of $1300 worth of wheels…  for $200.  PLUS, I can sell my old wheels and get a few bucks back.  Not bad, Mike.